Farro Risotto

Yes I said Farro. If you are not familiar with this miracle grain, become familiar because it is a tasty low-gluten complex carbohydrate. Farro has twice the amount of fiber and protein as wheat and in my opinion, tastes even better. It has a whopping 7 grams of protein per serving which trumps brown rice and quinoa. It has a wonderfully nutty, chewy texture that actually burns more calories when eaten than any other grain!

Farro must be soaked before cooked. I add warm water to the Farro and let it soak overnight or all day before cooking. It is great in soups,plain,  as a topping for salad, or my favorite way, as a risotto.

Yesterday I was delighted to see that my Mom sent me some Farro she found at a Greek Festival back home. I first came upon Farro when I was in Italy. I mistakenly thought it was Barley, because they look so similar. I bought a bag of it when I was there and made a risotto with it. To my surprise it was delicious! I love risotto but I am always looking for ways to make my favorite Italian dishes healthier.

Farro Risotto

Ingredients

  • 1 cup farro
  • 3 cups low-sodium vegetable broth or chicken broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 large white onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 1/3 cup white wine, such as Pinot Grigio
  • 2 cups cooked, chopped broccoli
  • 2 poached chicken breasts, shredded
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

In a medium bowl, mix together the farro and 4 cups of water. Let soak overnight and drain well.

 

Heat the broth  and water in a small saucepan and keep warm over low heat.

 

In a large saucepan or Dutch oven, heat the oil and butter over medium heat. Add the onions and season with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook until softened, about 2 minutes. Add the drained farro and cook, stirring constantly until toasted, about 3 minutes. Add the wine and stir constantly until evaporated, about 2 minutes. Add 1/2 cup of the hot broth and stir constantly until completely absorbed. Continue adding the remaining broth, 1/2 cup at a time, until the farro is creamy and cooked through, about 30 minutes. Turn off the heat and stir in the chicken, broccoli, and parmasean cheese. Transfer to a bowl and serve.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Farro Risotto

Leave a Reply

