Slow Cooker Thai Peanut Pork with Coconut Rice

Okay I have to admit… I love pork. It is one of my favorite meats especially when it is cooked well. This pork is cooked in the slow cooker on low heat for 10 hours and literally falls apart because it is so tender. It melts in your mouth like butter and has a rich warm taste due to the peanut butter.

I found this recipe on Cooking Light and have tweaked it a little bit. I don’t like peppers so I omitted them and added broccoli. I made much more sauce because I love to drown my rice in it.   It is AMAZING with all of the toppings but as you all know I’m trying to fatten my wallet so the only ones I had around were the lime juice, dried cilantro peanuts. I think it still tastes great either way.

You must give this recipe a try. It changed my life.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound pork loin, cut into 2 pieces
  • 1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 4 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • Remaining ingredients:
  • 1.5 cups hot cooked coconut brown rice
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 tablespoons chopped dry-roasted peanuts
  • 8 lime wedges

Preparation

  1. To prepare stew, trim fat from pork. Place pork and next 5 ingredients (pork through garlic) in an electric slow cooker. Cover with lid, and cook on low-heat setting for 8-10 hours. 2 hours before eating remove pork from slow cooker, and shred with two forks and add broccoli. Let to cook until the broccoli is tender. Once ready to eat add peanut butter to liquid in slow cooker; stir well.
  2. Combine stew and rice in a large bowl. Top each serving with onions and peanuts; serve with lime wedges.
One thought on “Slow Cooker Thai Peanut Pork with Coconut Rice

Leave a Reply

