A Little Knitting + A Lot of Yoga = Relaxation

At Elon we have two semesters and a “winter term”. Winter term is my favorite time of the school year. You only have to take one class  five days a week for three weeks. My school offers a lot of fun and interesting classes. My freshman year I took an advertising class, sophomore year I took a Southern culture class, and last year I took marketing. I have gotten pretty lucky with my classes but I must admit my final winter term is the best one yet. I am taking Advanced Yoga and am loving it. Though it is fun I must admit I am still sore, and I am on my third week of classes.

I’m not sure where I obtained this mind set but I always thought that yoga wasn’t a “real” workout. I looked at it as stretching and relaxation only. Man have I been proven wrong! I don’t think I have ever been this sore for an extended period of time. My teacher has us doing arm balances, head stands, as well as various lunges and balancing asanas. Every day when I leave class I feel so relaxed, it is amazing. I am really going to miss this class, I wish I could take it every day.

Ruffled Scarf

Along with yoga I am taking a knitting class twice a week. My roomie from Florence and I are taking it together and we are having a lot of fun. I just finished my first project, a scarf with ruffles on the bottom. It was actually simple to make and I wanted to share my pattern with all of you.

I chose a thicker yarn called “JIFFY” by Lion Brand yarns as well as size 10 needles. I prefer larger needles and bulkier yarn because it makes the scarf much quicker to knit. The first step is to cast on. Decide the width you would like your scarf to be. I did 16 stitches for my scarf. After you have determined the width, cast on 4X the amount (16 x 4 = 64). I casted on 64 stitches.

I found the ruffled knit pattern here.

First Ruffle:
Row 1:  Knit
Row 2:  Knit two together across row
Row 3 and 4:  Knit
Row 5:  Knit two together across row
Then knit every row until your scarf is the desired length.  Sip eggnog.

Second Ruffle
Row 1:  Knit into front and back of each stitch across row (this will double your stitches)
Row 2 and 3:  Knit
Row 4:  Knit into front and back of each stitch (again doubling)
Row 5:  Knit
Bind off looslely.

The only part I had trouble with was increasing my stitches for the second ruffle. The link I provided goes to the youtube video I used to teach myself.

I decided to snap a shot quickly when I was getting dressed today. I thought you should all see what it looks like on. It is really cute, and let me tell you it is extremely warm and cozy too. I am trying to decide what my next knitting project should be… I am thinking an red infinity scarf. I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

