Spinach, Ricotta, and Fennel Chicken Rollatini

Today is one of those days where I just do not feel like eating healthy. I am getting very bored with eating the same old chicken and broccoli dinner. I had a strong craving for Italian food and I was so in the mood for ravioli but after eating a couple blondies today (oops!) I decided I needed to make a light dinner.

In my freezer I had two chicken breasts, half a container of ricotta cheese and some spinach. I decided to make my own version of Chicken Rollatini and it came out fabulously. I did not bread it or fry it but rather baked it smothered in tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. The end result was juicy, tender chicken breast filled with a lovely and flavorful ricotta filling.

Instead of pasta I baked broccoli with the leftover tomato sauce. I added garlic salt, pepper, mozzarella cheese, and Parmesan. My oh my it tasted kind of like baked ziti. I was very surprised and I must say it sure fixed my Italian craving.

Ingredients: (4 servings)

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1 cup thawed and drained frozen spinach
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 2 Tbsp Parmesan cheese
  • 1 can tomato sauce

Directions:

  1. Slice chicken breast in half length wise to create two thin chicken breasts (if not thin sliced already)
  2. Pound chicken breasts until they are thin and wider than before.
  3. In a bowl, combine ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, garlic, fennel, and egg until well blended.
  4. Place ricotta mixture on each chicken breast and roll the chicken breast until no cheese is showing.
  5. Place chicken in baking pan and cover with tomato sauce.
  6. Cover each chicken breast with mozzarella cheese.
  7. Bake at 350 for 45-60 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Spinach, Ricotta, and Fennel Chicken Rollatini

  1. I will definitely have to try stuffing chicken with ricotta and I always have spinach on hand so this should be easy. If you’re not into pasta, try spaghetti squash which I have just discovered and can’t get enough of it. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

