Greek Yogurt and Dijon Crusted Salmon

I am so very excited because this is the very first time I have ever cooked Salmon! Harris Teeter had a special on fresh salmon so I decided to splurge a little. I bought 1.45 pounds for $8.10. I immediately divided it into four portions. I froze two cuts and cooked two with a delicious yogurt-dijon topping. I can’t wait to have the second one tomorrow for lunch.

Salmon is probably my favorite fish but I rarely eat it because it is so pricey. Ordering this meal at a restaurant could easily exceed $12 – $17. My portion was around $2. Not bad!

I found this recipe for mustard-crusted salmon at eatingwell.com. They called for low fat sour cream but I did not have any. I think the Greek yogurt was a perfect substitute, not to mention it adds a little extra protein to this meal.

As you may notice, the top is a little burnt crispy. My awesome retro oven only has one broil setting (high). Next time I will probably place the oven rack a little lower to avoid this happening again. I must admit, even with the crispy topping, it was still one of the best salmon experiences I have ever had.

Ingredients:

  • .75 lb salmon fillet, cut into two pieces
  • 1/8 tsp salt, or to taste
  • ground pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat broiler. Line a broiler pan or baking sheet with foil, then coat it with cooking spray.
  2. Place salmon pieces, skin-side down, on the prepared pan. Season with salt and pepper. Combine Greek yogurt, mustard and lemon juice in a small bowl. Spread evenly over the salmon.
  3. Broil the salmon 5 inches from the heat source until it is opaque in the center, 10 to 12 minutes.
Leave a Reply

